Family Practice Brownies

I cook and bake pretty often and I like to think I’m pretty good at it. There are plenty of times that I don’t really use a recipe or I start with one and randomly change things when I feel like it. Because of this it’s really rare that I actually memorize recipes. Honestly this recipe for brownies is probably the only thing that I could make completely from memory. My dad always made these brownies with us ever since I was a little kid. I remember standing on the step stool at the stove to stir the pan and taking turns with my brother putting in the ingredients. The sheer number of times that I’ve made these brownies is probably the only reason I remember this recipe.

IMG_3696

The recipe was in a cookbook that our church made

Now my dad didn’t really cook and definitely didn’t bake, but he knew how to make brownies. Actually the only other thing that I can think of that he made was waffles. I honestly have no clue where he got this recipe, but it was the one we always used. One time while I was living at home during grad school I made brownies using a different recipe and I’m pretty sure my dad was legitimately offended that I had strayed from the family recipe. I haven’t made a different kind of brownie since.

These brownies are super simple (I made them as a toddler), fast, and tasty on their own or in a magical “brownie mountain.”

Family Practice Brownies:

  • One stick of butter (1 tablespoons)
  • 2 ounces of semi-sweet baking chocolate
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla
  • 3/4 cup of flour
  • Chocolate chips or walnuts mixed in or on top if you want

    IMG_3695

    “The brownie pan”, we used this pan every single time and I don’t think I’ve ever used it for anything else.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and spray a 8×8 (I think?) pan with cooking spray. In a small pan add the butter and chocolate over medium heat, cook and stir (it’s easiest to use a fork) until melted. Remove from heat and add the remaining ingredients stirring after each addition. Pour into your pan and top with chocolate chips or nuts if desired. Cook for 30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean (or when they look right, that’s my professional method).

IMG_3702

Flour is last. This was always the hard part when I was a kid, like it was legitimately hard because my arm would get tired trying to stir in the flour

These are delicious plain, but are also great in brownie mountains (I’m actually not sure where this name came from). Top your brownie with ice cream and hot fudge and you’re set for your sugar coma.

IMG_3705

Basically heaven

Leave a Reply

