Peppermint Chocolate Cupcakes

I’ve made these cupcakes a couple of times now, but this time I made them to be a little more holiday themed. Since peppermint seems to fit well with the season it’s about time I finally posted this recipe and some pictures. *I started writing this like 2 weeks ago and am finally finishing it…IMAG2675

I originally got this recipe for Andes mint cupcakes from Hungry Hungry Highness, it was a good recipe to begin with so I only made a couple of changes to it myself.

Rather than using the cupcake recipe listed, mostly because I’m lazy, but because also I’ve already got a tried and true chocolate cupcake recipe that I like to use. It’s quick and then I have more time to play around with my frosting and decorating the cupcakes.

“Hundred Dollar Cake” Recipe (makes a dozen cupcakes)

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 1 cup hot water
  • 1 cup Miracle Whip

Mix together the flour, sugar, baking soda, and cocoa. Then add one cup of HOT water and mix. Finally fold in the Miracle Whip. Bake for 25-30 minutes at 350 degrees.

While those are baking you can make the Andes mint mousse filling for the cupcakes

  • 2/3 cup whipping cream
  • 1/3 crushed Andes mints (you can buy them pre crushed, they’re by the chocolate chips)

Whip the cream in a mixer until it holds stiff peaks. Meanwhile, melt the chocolate in the microwave for 30 seconds. Mix chocolate in the whipped cream.

To fill the cupcakes use a cupcake core-er to take the center out of the cupcake. IMAG2672

I spray the corer thingy and the tops of the cupcakes with a bit of cooking spray so it doesn't stick and pull the cupcakes apart

I spray the corer thingy and the tops of the cupcakes with a bit of cooking spray so it doesn’t stick and pull the cupcakes apart

Fill the cupcake with the mousse and then replace the top of the cupcakes that you took out (or not and just put extra frosting on top, that works too).IMAG2674

For the cream cheese buttercream frosting

  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3-4 cups powdered sugar
  • Red food coloring
  • 1/2 tsp Peppermint or mint extract if desired

Mix everything together except the food coloring. If you mix it in a mixer, leave it on high for a few minutes (if you use a whisk attachment). This makes it really fluffy and makes it nice for piping on the cupcakes. For my peppermint cupcakes I divided the frosting in half and mixed red food coloring in. I filled my bag with the white frosting first and then added in the red frosting (more pink actually). This gave me a nice swirled frosting. Frost the cupcakes however you want and you’re finished!

IMAG2678

Started out all white, then swirled, and finally all red

Started out all white, then swirled, and finally all red

IMAG2681

I’ve also made them with the Andes mint lookIMAG1800

3 thoughts on “Peppermint Chocolate Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

