Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

I got the recipe for these cupcakes out of a cupcake cook book (I don’t remember the name, sorry!) this summer. The first time I made them I thought they were going to be terrible. I almost just stopped baking them like halfway through, there is a lot of baking powder in these and it was so strong I thought there was no way they could be good. I decided that I could cover up just about anything with enough frosting and chocolate, though, and kept baking.  They actually turned out great, I took them to work for my last day at the hospital and everyone loved them!

IMAG2590

So here is the recipe

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes
-1/4 lb (1 stick) of butter, softened
-1 cup milk
-2 tsp vanilla
-2 1/4 cups flour
-1 tbl baking powder (I did just a bit less the second time I made these)
-1/2 tsp salt
-1 2/3 cup sugar
-3 large egg whites (I usually use one whole egg and 2 egg whites)
-1 package Oreos (off brand just isn’t the same)
Preheat oven to 350. Combine butter, sugar, milk, and vanilla. In a separate bowl combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. Combine the two mixtures. Add egg whites. Crush about 10 oreos and mix in. Place liners in muffin tin, and fill about 3/4 full. Bake 16-20 minutes.
IMAG2582
Cream cheese frosting:
-8 oz. cream cheese, softened
-2-3 cups powdered sugar
-1-2 tsp vanilla
-1-2 tbl milk (if needed)
Mix cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla together. Add milk if it’s too thick, more powdered sugar if too thin.
Chocolate ganache:
-3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
-1/4 cup whipping cream
Combine in pan and cook over medium heat until melted
Let the cupcakes cool completey, add the frosting, put an oreo on top and cover with ganache. These are best if you let them sit overnight, that way the oreo gets kinda melty instead of crunchy. One the thing to be said for more baking powder is that the cupcakes kind of fluff up and then sink in the middle which makes a nice spot for the oreo.IMAG2465 The second time I made these they were more flat so the oreo had to just sit up top. I guess I’ll just have to keep making them till it’s just rightIMAG2581
One thought on “Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

