Homemade Energy Bars

This is a recipe for homemade  enegry bars(they’re called power bars but I didn’t want to be infringing on anything) that I got from one of my bosses at the wellness center. She had some here when I was working a while ago and I finally remembered to actually get the recipe. These bars are so amazing and super easy to make. I made some a couple of weeks ago and they were gone pretty fast after my little sister discovered them. These things are packed with protein so they’re great after a workout but there’s also enough sweetness that they also taste great. I’ve been taking them to school with me because I’ve been running in the mornings before class so I’m usually super hungry again only an hour or so after breakfast. These bars are a great way to satiate your hunger in between meals and will even calm your sweet tooth cravings.

Here’s the recipe

  • 2 cups oatmeal
  • 1 cup ground flax
  • 1 cup vanilla whey protein (or soy protein if you prefer)
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup honey
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 cup dried cranberries

Mix together the dry ingredients, add in and stir the peanut butter and honey, and finally stir in the chocolate chips and cranberries.   IMAG2570 IMAG2571  IMAG2573  You can combine the ingredients in whatever way you want but I thought this way made it easier to stir everything in. Mold the mixture into a 9×13 pan and place in the refrigerator or freezer until solid.IMAG2574 Cut into whatever size bars you would like (I usually cut between 20-25 bars I believe). It’s easier if you cut the bars before you freeze them, then you can just break them apart and store in a freezer bag or container. I think they’re best out of the freezer, they thaw out enough to eat pretty fast and they’re a little more solid out of a freezer.IMAG2546

Dark chocolate chips are recommended but I’ve been using semi-sweet because I can buy the mini ones which I like a little bit better, the regular chocolate chips seem a little big for these bars. I wouldn’t call these necessarily super healthy because of all the sugar in the various ingredients but I think it balances out well with the protein. At least in my opinion these bars are great for snacking and for post workouts.

Leave a Reply

