Cake Pops (Red Velvet)

Last week I posted a recipe for red velvet cupcakes. Since most recipes make about 2 dozen cupcakes and I’m usually making cupcakes for way fewer people than that I like to make about half of my cupcake batter into the actual cupcakes and then use the other half to make cake pops. It’s easy to do and then you get double the delicousness out of one recipe. After making the red velvet cupcake batter I pour about half of it into a square 9″ baking pan. Bake the cake for about 25-30 minutes at 350 degrees or until the center is fully cooked. Let the cake cool completely (you can put in the refrigerator if you don’t want to wait as long). Then flip the cake into a large bowl and use your hands to crumble up te cake (make sure your hands are clean first!). Get the cake into small crumbs before adding your cream cheese frosting.IMAG1265 I found that to get the best consistency for the cake pops I make my frosting thick but use a little more milk to make it a little more like icing (it’s hard to explain), this makes it so everything sticks together but get way too sweet from the frosting. Mix the cake crumbs and the frosting together and then chill for 10-20 minutes before shaping (this just makes it easier to roll the cake into a ball). IMAG1266You can make the cake pops any size you want but I probably scoop about 1-2 big tablespoons of the mixture to shape. Roll the cake into a ball and just use lollipop sticks to create your cake pops. You could just leave it this way or I like to dip them in chocolate to make the even tastier (and probably way worse for you…) Just melt milk chocolate and dip in your cake pops. Set them on a cookie sheet covered with wax paper and chill one more time to harden the chocolate.IMAG1268 And that’s it! I keep them in the refrigerator because I think they taster better when they’re cold and that way they don’t get mushy.

Leave a Reply

