Red Velvet Cupcakes [Recipe]

When it comes to baking, “from scratch” is really the only way to me. But I cheated for a long time with my red velvet cupcakes, yep, guilty of using a box mix with that one! The horror! I had initially gotten the recipe I used from a Jello cookbook or something (which is why it used mixes) and it was super tasty so I didn’t want to mess with a good thing by trying a different recipe. But then I started to feel like a bit of a fraud so I figured I should at least try it out on my own to see if it could be as good. I used this recipe the first and 2nd times that I made these cupcakes. The first time they turned out great, the 2nd time did not go as well. I’m not totally sure what happened the 2nd time around but I think I had actually reduced the amount of oil in the reciplet the first time I made them but forgot to do this again the 2nd time. The best thing to do when you find recipes online is look in the reviews section, they usually have really helpful tips and this one suggested using less oil, so I think that’s what made the difference. I’ll still need to try it out again sometime to see if I can get it right again. I will say they are at least as good as the box mix but obviously more complicated. Here’s the recipe with a couple of my changes

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup buttermilk, room temperature
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons red food coloring (add more if it doesn’t seem red enough)
  • 1 teaspoon white distilled vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Mix together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and cocoa.IMAG1240 In a sepate bowl mix the oil, buttermilk, eggs, food coloring, vinegar, and vanilla. IMAG1239Comibine the two mixtures together and mix completely.IMAG1242Pour batter into a muffin tin and bake for about 20 minutes at 350.IMAG1243 Makes about 2 dozen cupcakes. Let cool completely before topping with cream cheese frosting

Red velvet and pumpkin spice cupcakes

Red velvet and pumpkin spice cupcakes

One thought on “Red Velvet Cupcakes [Recipe]

Leave a Reply

