Pumpkin Spice Cupcakes [Recipe]

One day a couple months ago when I was in Mesquite I was at Walmart (I swear I was there like every day, basically the only place to go in town) I saw some pumpkin spice cupcakes in the bakery and they sounded delicious. I’m not even really a fan of pumpkin but they sounded good so I bought them. They were pretty tasty, but since they were store-bought I figured I could do better. It was just a couple weeks before Thanksgiving so I figured that would be the perfect opportunity to make them. I found this reciple  and tried it out with a couple small changes for my cupcakes. They turned out great and were so yummy! I topped them with cream cheese/marshmallow creme frosting that I made but they were also really tasty even without any frosting at all, more like a muffin that way. Here’s the recipe for the cupcakes

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 2 1/2 cups sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 can (15 ounces) pumpkin
  • 2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice (here’s a good pumpkin pie spice mix)
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk

Combine the butter and sugar. Add eggs and mix completely. Stir in pumpkin. In a separate bowl combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, spices, and salt. (I think I added extra of the spices, especially the cloves, add more or less based on what flavor you want) Combine the two mixtures togther and then add the butter milk, and finish mixing. Bake in muffin tins at 350 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes. Let the cupcakes cool completely before frosting otherwise it melts and ends up all over the place…I’m impatient enough to have done this.

Frosting (nothing about this is exact, but frosting is really easy so it doesn’t matter too much)

  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1 stick of butter, softened
  • Powdered sugar (somewhere between 1 and 2 pounds)
  • Marshmallow creme
  • Milk (if needed)

For the frosting mix together the butter and cream cheese, then add a bunch of powdered sugar (this just depends on how much frosting you’re making). Mix till it’s the consistency that you want (add more powdered sugar if too thin or a tiny bit of milk if it’s too thick). Add marshmallow creme to make the frosting more fluffy (if you want).

This recipe makes about 2 dozen cupcakes. You can eat them with or without the frosting, either way they’re pretty amazing.

IMAG1247

Leave a Reply

