Small Time Baking

I decided the other day that I wanted to make cookies. I had everything I needed for it but I knew it might be a little interesting just because since I only pseudo-moved into this studio apartment I don’t actually have all of my usual things with me, such as all of my kitchen stuff. Because of this I only have one real bowl, I’ll say this again…ONE BOWL. That’s it. Some people think they can’t bake, well if I can handle baking with basically nothing then I’m pretty sure any one can. Anyway, I was just making some chocolate chip cookies and I’m always trying out different recipes because I’ve never found one that I really love. I usually buy Nestle chocolate chips, but since the Hershey’s ones were cheaper I tried these out this time and also the recipe on the back. They turned out pretty well and this is possibly my new go-to chocolate chip cookie recipe. The other thing that made these awesome was that I got some Reese’s peanut butter chips, I just threw some of these in and it made these cookies so much better. Here’s the recipe

  • 2 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • Chocolate chips
  • Optional: peanut butter chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Mix together flour, baking soda,  and salt. In a separate bowl (you see where having only 1 bowl becomes a problem?) mix together the sugars, butter, and vanilla. After these are mixed add in the eggs and mix again. Add in the flour mixture and combine. Last step is to add in the chocolate chips. Make the cookies whatever size you want and bake on a cookie sheet for 8-10 minutes (remember to check them sooner, especially if you have an electric oven that tends to cook faster). The recipe is supposed to make 5 dozen cookies. Bake them all at once or wrap part of the cookie down in saran wrap and refrigerate or freeze (depends on how soon you plan to use it) and bake later or just enjoy the cookie down. I usually do a little bit of both, either way it’s delicious. 

Leave a Reply

