Music Monday: “Family Ties” by Close to Home

In the hope of trying to keep myself on track with updating my blog on a regular basis I’m going to be trying out some different themes, I’ll still have my regular random blog posts of whatever is going on, but I’ll also have some posts that are mainly just pictures and will be denoted by [brackets] around the title (there have already been a couple of these). I’m also going to test out doing Music Mondays. I love music so I’ll be posting some of my favorite songs and since I usually choose songs I like based on how I can relate to them there will likely be some kind of story to go along with the song, such is the case today.

The song for this first Music Monday (from here on out known as MM) the song is “Family Ties” by Close to Home. A friend  of mine had told me about Close to Home a while ago when their new album was coming out and I pretty much haven’t been able to stop listening to it since then, absolutely one of my new favorite bands. Here it is (lyrics listed at the bottom of this post).

This song was kind of perfect for me today. Every time I’m back in Grand Junction it’s always a little weird. I absolutely love it here and this still feels like home but at the same time it’s not really where I belong anymore. I don’t live, work, or go to school here anymore. There are plenty of people here that I love and I love seeing them but being here is really just a break from everything else. As badly as I wish it was, my life just isn’t here now. When I’m here I kind of feel like I’m just a minor character playing a role in other peoples lives but really don’t have my own and it can put me in an odd mood. I thought running this morning would make me feel better but even that wasn’t good! By far my worst run in a long time; breathing was hard, couldn’t run for more than a half mile at a time, and I was going soo slow. This was one of those runs when I just started thinking “Why the @%&# am I doing this?” I was running Rustlers Loop and it was perfect out, good temperature, clear blue sky, and sunny. But it still felt awful. I started to get down on myself and once I start that I’m usually on a role; straight from “this run sucks” to “omg I hate my life.” Really it’s just totally silly and fortunately I realized that pretty fast. This song came on my ipod and I just thought, “ya know, I could just be lazy and not do anything at all, not keep running, not do tris, or climb. I could quit school, blah, blah blah. That could be the story of my life, but guess what, no one will ever want to read that crap.” Right around this time I was getting to the last 3/4 of a mile of the trail, which is my favorite part of the whole thing, lots of downhills and small ups and downs and it’s pretty fast. By this time I had gotten my act together I was finally ready to run. It was still hard and I sounded like what I imagine someone with black lung would sound like because  I was breathing so hard. And it still felt a little horrible,  but isn’t that always running? But in a way it still felt so good and I was so much happier by the end. Yes I could just be lazy and lame and never do anything with my life, but that would be so incredibily stupid and such a huge waste. Instead I’m gonna live my life like it’s a story to tell, and I want it to be a good one.

Lyrics

I’ll seize this moment and make it mine
Remember when we were younger and had nothing but time
And now I know there’s so much in my way
But it won’t keep me held down ’cause I’ve got something to say

We’re all just kids growing up too fast
Focused on the future but not forgetting the past

So I live my life like it’s a story to tell
Don’t try to stand in my way
‘Cause I can make a bet that you’ll fail
But I’ll push on and on
Till every doubt is gone
Nothing’s gonna stand in my way
I control my own fate

If you are not scared
Then you’re not taking a chance
The road ahead is paved by those who took the risk

We’re all just kids growing up too fast
Focused on the future but not forgetting the past

This will always be my family
This will always be my family

So I live my life like it’s a story to tell
Don’t try to stand in my way
‘Cause I can make a bet that you’ll fail
But I’ll push on and on
Till every doubt is gone
Nothing’s gonna stand in my way
I control my own fate

This will always be my family
You’ve been here for me since the beginning
This will always be my family
I’ll be there for you till the end

So I live my life like it’s a story to tell
Don’t try to stand in my way
‘Cause I can make a bet that you’ll fail
But I’ll push on and on
Till every doubt is gone
Nothing’s gonna stand in my way
I control my own fate

Don’t forget where you’ve come from

 

Leave a Reply

