Scotcheroos

I don’t know if scotcheroos are a regional thing or if I just somehow have missed out on these for most of my life but I feel like these are all over the place in Iowa. Honestly it gives Iowa at least a few cool points. These things are amazing and I finally decided I would try making some of my own. They were super easy to make and so tasty!

I don’t think this is where I got the recipe I used (can’t remember which one I found) but they’re pretty much all the same. Here it is

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup light corn syrup (clearly not making these cause you’re trying to eat healthy…)
  • 1 1/2 cups peanut butter (I added an extra 1/2)
  • 6 cups rice crispy cereal
  • 1 1/2 -2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 1/2 -2 cups butterscotch chips (can use less of both of these, I like the stuff on top so I made extra)

Combine sugar, corn syrup, and peanut butter in a saucepan and cook over medium-high heat to bring to a boil; once it’s boiling remove from heat. Mix in cereal. Pour into a 9×13 pan and press down so it’s even (make sure you used cooking spray or something similar on the pan beforehand). In a small saucepan mix the chocolate and butterscotch chips cooking over medium heat until melted and stir until combined and smooth; remove from heat and pour over treats in pan.
Spread until smooth. Then just let your scotcheroos sit for about an hour till they set (can put in the refrigerator if you’re impatient like I am). This seriously took me like less then 15 minutes to make and they’re one of my favorite things ever

And for something completely unrelated here’s one of my new favorite songs from Sleeping with Sirens

Leave a Reply

